Domestic violence allegations can have serious consequences in New Jersey. An allegation of assault can damage your reputation in the community and your career, even if you're later exonerated. But you can also face charges months or even years after a serious incident. If you're involved in an allegation of domestic violence in New Jersey, you need the skilled legal guidance of the Lento Law Firm's Criminal Defense Team. Call them at 888.535.3686 or contact them online today.
Police Captain Charged in New Jersey Assault & Kidnapping
A New York Police Department captain is now facing charges for an alleged assault that happened almost a year before his arrest. In early December, police in Passaic County arrested NYPD captain Hariton Marachilian for aggravated assault, kidnapping, and other charges under the New Jersey Domestic Violence Act. The arrest stemmed from a domestic violence assault on December 22, 2022, where someone seriously injured a female victim after kidnapping and assaulting her. Almost one year later, police arrested Marachilian, stating that the investigation identified him as the woman's assailant. He now faces charges of first-degree kidnapping, two counts of second-degree assault, third-degree criminal restraint, and third-degree criminal coercion, all charges under the state's Domestic Violence Act.
Criminal Charges in New Jersey
Crimes under the state's Domestic Violence Act are wide-ranging, including:
- Sexual assault,
- Terroristic threats,
- Criminal mischief,
- Criminal trespass,
- False imprisonment,
- Criminal sexual contact, and
Crimes such as homicide and sexual assault can be first-degree indictable offenses, also known as felonies in other states. A conviction for a first-degree felony can result in prison for up to twenty years and fines of $150,000.
Many indictable offenses have a statute of limitations of up to five years in New Jersey. However, some serious indictable offenses have a statute of limitations of seven years, and many first-degree offenses like murder and sexual assault have no statute of limitations. That means that you can face assault charges even years after the alleged incident. Penalties for domestic violence can be hefty, with incarceration of up to 18 months for a fourth-degree felony conviction, two to three years for a third-degree felony, five to ten years for a second-degree felony, and up to 20 years for a first-degree felony.
You Need an Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney
If you're facing domestic violence charges in New Jersey, the consequences can be serious. You could face jail time and large fines. But you'll also face the stigma of domestic violence allegations, which can destroy your reputation in the community, your career, and your life. You should vigorously defend yourself and ensure a seasoned New Jersey defense team protects your rights.
The skilled Criminal Defense Team at the Lento Law Firm has been defending New Jersians like you in the criminal justice system for years. Find out how they can help you. Call the Lento Law Firm at 888.535.3686 to schedule a consultation, or contact them online today.