Anyone who is accused of domestic violence in Hudson County, New Jersey faces very serious criminal allegations. As a result, it is crucial that you fight back against these charges with the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer. You are going up against law enforcement who take these types of charges extra seriously, as do New Jersey prosecutors. They will pursue charges against you aggressively, often failing to learn the full facts of what happened in the incident you are charged for.
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Hudson County, New Jersey, experienced domestic violence defense attorney Joseph D. Lento is here to help.
Domestic Violence in Hudson County
Domestic violence is defined as the "actual or threatened physical, sexual, emotional, or economic abuse of an individual by someone with whom they have or had an intimate relationship." New Jersey law specifies that the relationship needs to be "intimate" for the case to be considered domestic violence.
A relationship will be considered intimate if it is any one of the relationships listed below:
- (ex) boyfriend/girlfriend,
- people with children together,
- separation, or
- cohabitation in the present or past
Charges that Constitute Domestic Violence
If any of the offenses that are listed below are perpetrated against an "intimate" partner, those offenses are also then considered domestic violence according to the New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act. The New Jersey statute sets forth the following offenses as possible domestic violence crimes:
- Contempt of a domestic violence order and
- False imprisonment
- Criminal sexual contact
- Terroristic threats
- Criminal restraint
- Criminal mischief
- Criminal trespass
- Sexual assault
- Criminal coercion
- Any crime that includes the risk of serious bodily injury or death
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Hudson County
In Hudson County and the rest of New Jersey, the penalties associated with domestic violence crimes are based upon the underlying offense on which it is based. The higher the offense level for the underlying crime, the higher the level of punishment will be for domestic violence.
- Third Degree Offense: May result in a prison sentence of 3 to 5 years in prison. A fine of $15,000 may also be imposed.
- Second Degree: May result in a prison sentence of between 5 and 10 years in prison. A fine of up to $150,000 may also be imposed.
- First Degree: May result in a prison sentence of anywhere between 10 and 20 years. A fine of up to $200,000 may also be imposed. If the crime is murder, the time spent in prison can be much higher.
Courts in Hudson County
Depending on the severity of your charges, your case could stay in municipal court, or be transferred to the Superior Court if the case is a felony.
In Hudson County, the Hudson County Superior Court handles felony-level criminal cases, and is located at:
595 Newark Ave,
Jersey City, NJ 07306
There are 12 different municipal courts throughout the county that handle misdemeanor cases and the initial stages of felony cases.
Consult a Hudson County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney
If you or someone you care for is facing allegations of domestic violence in Hudson County, New Jersey, you need a highly experienced attorney who can defend your case and protect your constitutional rights.
For a consultation, contact attorney Joseph D. Lento by phone at 888-535-3686 or online.