Cape May County Traffic Offense Attorney

The 2019 New Jersey Highway Safety Program included significant resources for the statewide enforcement of traffic laws. Some of the key safety concerns include impaired driving, preventing pedestrian and bicycle accidents, enforcement of distracted driving laws, and more.  The majority of drivers that are cited for traffic violations will be summoned to one of the 15 Municipal Courts throughout Cape May County.

Cape May County 07/2018 – 06/2019

Cases Added

DWI

701

Traffic

28,040

Parking

35,481

Fines Imposed for Violations

The majority of violations are subject to a minimum fine. For example, an unsafe driving conviction will result in a fine of between $50 and $150 for a first offense. Courts may allow for payment arrangement plans or possibly reduce fines in exchange for completing community service work.

Driving Record Penalty Points

Most traffic violations will result in penalty points that are added to driving records. For example, failing to yield to a pedestrian will result in two points and racing on highways results in five points. A license suspension is imposed for accumulating 12 points.

New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS)

Drivers that accumulate six points in three years must pay a $150 annual surcharge. The surcharge increases by $25 for each additional point added. Some serious infractions also result in surcharges. For example, $250 per year for driving with a suspended license and $1,000 annually for a DWI conviction

How Traffic Violations Impact Auto Insurance Premiums

A calculator on Insurance.com illustrates how certain traffic violations result in increased car insurance rates. A conviction for reckless driving in New Jersey will result in an average premium increase of 61%. Depending on the excessiveness of a speeding offense, drivers can expect an increase from 17% to 32%

Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)

Operating a vehicle while intoxicated is a serious offense. The penalties are influenced by the driver's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and other factors. The following is a summary of laws for first-time offenders:

  • Drivers with a BAC from 08 to .10% will have their driver's license suspended for 30 days and a maximum of $400 fine imposed. An ignition interlock device (IID) may be required on the vehicle for a maximum of six months. All offenders must participate in an Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center program or similar alcohol safety classes.
  • When the BAC ranges from .10 to .15% or involves driving under the influence of drugs, a 45-day license suspension and a maximum $500 fine may be imposed. IID installation may be required for up to one year.
  • When the BAC exceeds .15%, an automatic 90-day driver's license suspension applies and up to a $500 fine is imposed. The driver may be required to maintain an IID for up to 18 months.

Importance of Retaining Experienced Representation

Having assistance from a seasoned traffic attorney can have many benefits. When involving relatively minor violations, this is important to prevent accumulating fines, points, surcharges and a potential loss of driving privileges. Those facing more serious traffic offenses such as DWI or operating without insurance should retain aggressive counsel immediately. These charges may result in jail time and can significantly harm your current or future employment.

New Jersey Lawyer for Traffic Violations

Have you been cited for a traffic offense? Joseph D. Lento is a defense attorney that is well-versed in this area of legal practice. He will work diligently to minimize fines and other penalties and keep you on the road. Contact the office for assistance at (888) 535-3686 today.  

​​​Contact The Lento Law Firm Today

Footer 2

When it comes to criminal defense cases, you need the right person in your corner. To learn more about how Mr. Lento can help you, call the Lento Law Firm today at 888-535-3686. or contact him online.

This website was created only for general information purposes. It is not intended to be construed as legal advice for any situation. Only a direct consultation with a licensed Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York attorney can provide you with formal legal counsel based on the unique details surrounding your situation. The pages on this website may contain links and contact information for third party organizations – the Lento Law Firm does not necessarily endorse these organizations nor the materials contained on their website. In Pennsylvania, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout Pennsylvania's 67 counties, including, but not limited to Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Berks, Lancaster, Lehigh, and Northampton County. In New Jersey, attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New Jersey's 21 counties: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren County, In New York, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New York's 62 counties. Outside of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York, unless attorney Joseph D. Lento is admitted pro hac vice if needed, his assistance may not constitute legal advice or the practice of law. The decision to hire an attorney in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania counties, New Jersey, New York, or nationwide should not be made solely on the strength of an advertisement. We invite you to contact the Lento Law Firm directly to inquire about our specific qualifications and experience. Communicating with the Lento Law Firm by email, phone, or fax does not create an attorney-client relationship. The Lento Law Firm will serve as your official legal counsel upon a formal agreement from both parties. Any information sent to the Lento Law Firm before an attorney-client relationship is made is done on a non-confidential basis.

Menu