Domestic violence is an incredibly serious crime and is treated harshly in New Jersey courts. Law enforcement in Passaic County is always on the lookout for domestic violence cases and tends to aggressively pursue these cases. Those who face these charges are likely to face an overzealous prosecutor who is bent on getting a conviction, no matter the actual facts of the case.
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Passaic County, New Jersey, experienced domestic violence defense attorney Joseph D. Lento is here to help.
What is Domestic Violence in Passaic County?
According to New Jersey law, domestic violence is the actual or threatened physical, sexual, emotional, or economic abuse of an individual by someone with whom they have or had an intimate relationship. This requires that the relationship be "intimate" as a matter of law. A relationship is deemed intimate if it is characterized by any of the following:
- cohabitation in the present or past,
- (ex) boyfriend/girlfriend, or
- people with children together.
Charges that Constitute Domestic Violence
The New Jersey Prevention of Domestic Violence Act lists 18 criminal offenses that constitute domestic violence when they are committed against an intimate partner.
- False imprisonment
- Criminal sexual contact
- Terroristic threats
- Criminal restraint
- Sexual assault
- Criminal mischief
- Criminal trespass
- Criminal coercion
- Contempt of a domestic violence order and
- Any crime involving risk of death or serious bodily injury
Penalties for Domestic Violence
The penalties for domestic violence depend greatly on the underlying offense that was committed. Each of the crimes listed above varies in severity, and the penalties vary accordingly.
- First Degree Crimes: May lead to a prison sentence of anywhere between 10 and 20 years. A fine of up to $200,000 may also be imposed. If the crime is murder, the time spent in prison can be much higher.
- Second Degree Crimes: May lead to a prison sentence of between 5 and 10 years in prison. A fine of up to $150,000 may also be imposed.
- Third Degree Crimes: May lead to a prison sentence of 3 to 5 years in prison. A fine of $15,000 may also be imposed.
Penalties for domestic violence can be incredibly severe and deserve the best possible defense.
Courts in Passaic County
Depending on the severity of your charges, your case could stay in municipal court, or be transferred to the Superior Court if the case is a felony. Courts in Passaic County, NJ that handle domestic violence cases include:
Passaic County Superior Court
77 Hamilton St.
Paterson, NJ 07505-2017
Passaic Municipal Court
330 Passaic St,
Passaic, NJ 07055
Paterson City Municipal Court
Paterson, NJ 07505
Clifton Municipal Court
900 Clifton Ave,
Clifton, NJ 07013
North Haledon Municipal Court
103 Overlook Ave,
North Haledon, NJ 07508
Woodland Park Municipal Court
5 Brophy Lane
Woodland Park, NJ 07424
Fairfield Municipal Court
230 Fairfield Rd,
Fairfield, NJ 07004
Bloomingdale Municipal Court
101 Hamburg Turnpike,
Bloomingdale, NJ 07403
Elmwood Park Municipal Court
182 Market St,
Elmwood Park, NJ 07407
Consult a Passaic County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney
If you or someone you care for is facing allegations of domestic violence in Passaic County, New Jersey, you need a highly experienced attorney who can defend your case and protect your constitutional rights. You do not have to fight this alone.
For a consultation, contact attorney Joseph D. Lento by phone at 888-535-3686 or online.