For anyone charged with domestic violence in Morris County, New Jersey, the time is now to act to defend your rights. You face very serious charges that can range from misdemeanors to felonies depending on your underlying charges. This presents the risk of incredibly high fines and lengthy prison sentences. With the help of a highly competent defense attorney at your side, you can work to defend your case and protect yourself from these worst case scenarios.
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Morris County, New Jersey, experienced domestic violence defense attorney Joseph D. Lento is here to help. You have the right to fight back to protect your freedom.
Domestic Violence in Morris County
New Jersey law defines domestic violence as the "actual or threatened physical, sexual, emotional, or economic abuse of an individual by someone with whom they have or had an intimate relationship."
It therefore requires that the relationship in which the parties involved in the incident be "intimate" in order for the case to be considered domestic violence. If the relationship is not intimate, it is not domestic violence (but can still be a crime).
A relationship will be considered intimate if it is any one of the relationships listed below:
- (ex) boyfriend/girlfriend,
- people with children together,
- separation, or
- cohabitation in the present or past
Charges That May Be Domestic Violence
If any of the below listed offenses are committed against a person with whom you were in an intimate relationship, as defined by law, the offenses are also then considered domestic violence. The act lists the following crimes as possible domestic violence offenses:
- Contempt of a domestic violence order
- Any crime that includes the risk of serious bodily injury or death
- False imprisonment
- Criminal sexual contact
- Terroristic threats
- Criminal mischief
- Criminal trespass
- Sexual assault
- Criminal coercion
- Criminal restraint
Penalties: Domestic Violence in Morris County
The potential penalties for domestic violence are attached to the severity of the underlying offense with which you are charged.
- Third Degree Crimes: Potential prison sentence of 3 to 5 years. A fine of $15,000 may also be imposed.
- Second Degree Crimes: Potential prison sentence of between 5 and 10 years. A fine of up to $150,000 may also be imposed.
- First Degree Crimes: Potential prison sentence of anywhere between 10 and 20 years. A fine of up to $200,000 may also be imposed. If you are charged with murder, the length of the prison sentence can be even higher.
Morris County Courts
Depending on the severity of the offense with which you are charged, your case could remain in municipal court, or it will be transferred to the Superior Court if the case is a felony.
In Morris County, the Morris County Superior Court handles felony criminal cases, and is located at:
Washington and Court Streets
Morristown, NJ 07963-0910
There are 37 different municipal courts throughout Morris County that handle misdemeanor cases and the initial stages of felony cases.
Consult a Morris County Domestic Violence Defense Attorney
If you or someone you care for is facing allegations of domestic violence in Morris County, New Jersey, you need a highly experienced attorney who can defend your case and protect your constitutional rights.
For a consultation, contact attorney Joseph D. Lento by phone at 888-535-3686 or online.