Sex Crime Defense in Salem County

There are now an estimated 101 registered sex offenders residing in Salem County. This translates to roughly 8.8 offenders per 10,000 residents. The Salem County Prosecutor's Office (SCPO) aggressively investigates allegations of sex crimes. Those who are accused of these serious crimes should promptly consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney.

New Jersey Sex Offense

Level of Offense

Maximum Incarceration

Maximum Fine

Aggravated Sexual Assault

First Degree

10 to 20 years

Up to $200,000

Sexual Assault

Second Degree

5 to 10 years

Up to $150,000

Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact

Third Degree

3 to 5 years

Up to $15,000

Criminal Sexual Contact

Fourth Degree

Up to 18 months

Up to $10,000

Lewdness (Without Intimate Part Exposure)

Disorderly Person Offense

Up to 6 months

Up to $1,000

Differentiating Sexual Penetration and Sexual Contact (2C:14-1)

Determining the severity of the offense is based on several factors including the age of the victim, nature of the offense, the relationship between the actor and victim, and more. A first-degree aggravated sexual assault involves an act of sexual penetration.

Sexual penetration involves “vaginal intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio or anal intercourse” occurring from the insertion of a finger, hand or another object. Sexual contact occurs when the perpetrator intentionally touches the victim's “intimate parts” either directly or through clothing. Acts of sexual contact may seek to degrade or humiliate the victim or for the sexual arousal or gratification of the perpetrator.

Provisions: Mandatory Minimum Sentencing (2C:14-6)

Any offender that is convicted for the second time of a serious sexually-based offense such as sexual assault or aggravated criminal sexual contact must serve a minimum prison sentence of five years. Courts may not grant parole eligibility or suspend any portion of this mandatory sentence.

Statute of Limitations

Sexual assault crimes are not subject to a statute of limitations under New Jersey law. Victims may potentially bring criminal charges regardless of how many years have elapsed since the crime allegedly happened.

Understanding Megan's Law Registration (2C:7-2)

Megan's Law requires that convicted offenders that are deemed as being at risk to re-offend must properly register with the authorities. For purposes of public safety, this information is contained in a database that is accessible via the internet.

Offenders that fail to comply with the registration requirement may face an additional third-degree criminal charge. This also applies to offenders that were originally convicted and were required to register as a sex offender in another state or jurisdiction.

Legislative Intent of the Central Registry (2C:7-12)

The legislature determined that members of the community should have reasonable access to this information in efforts to “prevent or avoid placing potential victims at risk.” Their intent was not to “impose additional criminal punishment” or burden on the offender.

Criminal Defense Attorney in Salem County

Those accused of serious crimes deserve experienced representation that will ensure their legal rights are protected. The Lento Law Firm has been effectively representing clients in sex offense cases and other similar criminal matters for many years across New Jersey. Contact the office today at (888) 535-3686 for a case evaluation.

​​​Contact The Lento Law Firm Today

Footer 2

When it comes to criminal defense cases, you need the right person in your corner. To learn more about how Mr. Lento can help you, call the Lento Law Firm today at 888-535-3686. or contact him online.

This website was created only for general information purposes. It is not intended to be construed as legal advice for any situation. Only a direct consultation with a licensed Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York attorney can provide you with formal legal counsel based on the unique details surrounding your situation. The pages on this website may contain links and contact information for third party organizations – the Lento Law Firm does not necessarily endorse these organizations nor the materials contained on their website. In Pennsylvania, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout Pennsylvania's 67 counties, including, but not limited to Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Berks, Lancaster, Lehigh, and Northampton County. In New Jersey, attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New Jersey's 21 counties: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren County, In New York, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New York's 62 counties. Outside of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York, unless attorney Joseph D. Lento is admitted pro hac vice if needed, his assistance may not constitute legal advice or the practice of law. The decision to hire an attorney in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania counties, New Jersey, New York, or nationwide should not be made solely on the strength of an advertisement. We invite you to contact the Lento Law Firm directly to inquire about our specific qualifications and experience. Communicating with the Lento Law Firm by email, phone, or fax does not create an attorney-client relationship. The Lento Law Firm will serve as your official legal counsel upon a formal agreement from both parties. Any information sent to the Lento Law Firm before an attorney-client relationship is made is done on a non-confidential basis.

Menu