Sex Crime Defense in Ocean County

There are currently 485 registered sex offenders in Ocean County. This equates to approximately 4.8 offenders per 10,000 residents. The Ocean County Prosecutor's Office works diligently with local and state agencies of law enforcement to respond to sexually-based crimes. Individuals that are the subject of these allegations are strongly encouraged to retain seasoned defense counsel.

New Jersey Sex Offense

Level of Offense

Maximum Incarceration

Maximum Fine

Aggravated Sexual Assault

First Degree

10 to 20 years

Up to $200,000

Sexual Assault

Second Degree

5 to 10 years

Up to $150,000

Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact

Third Degree

3 to 5 years

Up to $15,000

Criminal Sexual Contact

Fourth Degree

18 months or fewer

Up to $10,000

Lewdness (Without Intimate Part Exposure)

Disorderly Person Offense

6 months or fewer

Up to $1,000

Key Factors: Sexual Penetration and Sexual Contact (2C:14-1)

It is important to define sexual penetration and sexual contact when understanding how these offenses are committed. Sexual penetration occurs when a body part or object is inserted into the vagina or anus. This is one key element in a first-degree aggravated sexual assault case.

An act of sexual contact is committed when the victim's “intimate parts” are intentionally touched either directly or through clothing. These acts may be committed to degrade or humiliate the victim and/or for the perpetrator's sexual arousal or gratification. Intimate parts may include “sexual organs, genital area, anal area, inner thigh, groin, buttock or breast.”

Mandatory Minimum Sentencing (2C:14-6)

Any offender convicted of a second-offense of sexual assault or aggravated criminal sexual contact will have a fixed sentence of five years imposed without eligibility for parole. Courts are not permitted to suspend these sentences or otherwise deviate from this minimum requirement.

Statute of Limitations

New Jersey does not have a statute of limitations for sexual assault crimes. The victim may file criminal charges regardless of how many years have passed since the alleged incident occurred.

Offender Registration According to Megan's Law (2C:7-2)

This law was named after Megan, a seven-year-old girl that was raped and murdered. It requires that convicted sex offenders determined to be at risk of re-offending register with law enforcement. This offender information is stored in a public database on the internet.

If an offender fails to comply with the registration requirement they may be charged with an additional third-degree offense. This also applies to those offenders moving to New Jersey who was originally convicted and were required to register as a sex offender in another state or jurisdiction.

Possible Defenses for Allegations of Sexual Assault

There are several possible defenses in these cases. A defendant may contend that the alleged victim had agreed or consented to participate in the sexual activity. A victim may potentially misidentify their alleged perpetrator. This is a strong defense when the defendant has a credible alibi stating that they were at a different location at the time of the offense.

Experienced Legal Defense for Sex Offenses

If you have been arrested and charged with a sexually-based criminal offense, significant penalties may be imposed if convicted. Attorney Joseph D. Lento will work on your behalf to ensure your legal rights are protected. For a case evaluation, contact the office at (888) 535-3686 today.

​​​Contact The Lento Law Firm Today

footer-2.jpg

When it comes to criminal defense cases, you need the right person in your corner. To learn more about how Mr. Lento can help you, call the Lento Law Firm today at 888-535-3686. or contact him online.

This website was created only for general information purposes. It is not intended to be construed as legal advice for any situation. Only a direct consultation with a licensed Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York attorney can provide you with formal legal counsel based on the unique details surrounding your situation. The pages on this website may contain links and contact information for third party organizations – the Lento Law Firm does not necessarily endorse these organizations nor the materials contained on their website. In Pennsylvania, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout Pennsylvania's 67 counties, including, but not limited to Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Berks, Lancaster, Lehigh, and Northampton County. In New Jersey, attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New Jersey's 21 counties: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren County, In New York, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New York's 62 counties. Outside of Pennsylvania, New Jersey, and New York, unless attorney Joseph D. Lento is admitted pro hac vice if needed, his assistance may not constitute legal advice or the practice of law. The decision to hire an attorney in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania counties, New Jersey, New York, or nationwide should not be made solely on the strength of an advertisement. We invite you to contact the Lento Law Firm directly to inquire about our specific qualifications and experience. Communicating with the Lento Law Firm by email, phone, or fax does not create an attorney-client relationship. The Lento Law Firm will serve as your official legal counsel upon a formal agreement from both parties. Any information sent to the Lento Law Firm before an attorney-client relationship is made is done on a non-confidential basis.

Menu